moblog uk

view from my pocket

by mat

user profile | dashboard | imagewall | contact user

« older newer »

Buy my stuff! - modernist wooden jewellery, award-winning computer accessories and more. Shinium.eu

"Do you realise that every blade of grass is a different shade of green?" - from My Voice Will Go With You

Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike License

Search this moblog


Recent visitors

Nabru sofa review

Nabru sofa review
(viewed 34177 times)
Bookmark and Share
So, our sofa was screwed. It was a very cheap Argos sofa which we inherited second-hand several years ago. It was pretty knackered when we got it, let alone after years of abuse.

Hence, new sofa time (I've never bought brand new furniture before!). We designed our own from Nabru, which turned out to be a lot cheaper than buying something from DFS or the like. It arrived on a pallet, in pieces. I put it together with relatively little effort (or thought!). You might notice I put the arm covers on the wrong way around and had to change them - if I'd paid more attention to what I was doing, it wouldn't have taken more than half an hour or so, probably less.

It's well comfy. It's nice and solid-feeling (heavy!). We got to choose fabrics and colours, and paid significantly less than high-street prices. It's hard to say for sure about long-term comfort and/or durability, but it doesn't give the impression that it's going to fall apart anytime soon. Very impressed.

Note that in the video, I hadn't quite put the seats together fully - when totally finished, there's no visible wood pieces. There were seat options (soft and firm), so wanted to trial each one before final assembly.

Video options include: alternative soundtrack 1, alternative soundtrack 2 and glorious 1080 HD version
14th May 2009, 15:06   | tags:,,

540air says:

Love the video, reminds me of Alfie's exercise bike one. It's got me thinking that maybe I'll do a speeded up version of my ride to work :)

14th May 2009, 16:30

nige says:

Love Lemmy the foreman, checking in on the work every now and again.

14th May 2009, 16:35

hildegard says:

How could anyone need an alternative soundtrack to that? :)

Nabru certainly intriguing - can you give us a six-month update?

14th May 2009, 16:50

Viv says:

excellent concept

15th May 2009, 00:55

Caine says:

What a neat idea. I wish there was something like that here.

15th May 2009, 04:55

Jane Doe says:

Fascinating! Love the guest appearances by Lemmie. Interested to know how it fares long term

18th May 2009, 19:55

Dozer says:

I'm about to buy a narbu too. Thanks for this review.

26th May 2009, 18:08

Dozer says:

I'm about to buy a narbu too. Thanks for this review.

26th May 2009, 18:08

Eliot Sykes(eliotsykes-at-gmail-dot-com) says:

Great video, I've done my own nabru video, didn't provide laughs like yours though:

I couldn't post the link but if you check out www.spacehoarder.co.uk you'll see it.

5th Jun 2009, 21:15

Debra Bell( ) says:

Not sure about the choice of cusions. Can anyone recommend where it's better to go for the soft option?

12th Aug 2009, 14:35

ewan christie(jaffamuffin-at-gmail-dot-com) says:

possible to give a more full review of the sofa, how it's holding up?

What concerns me is the seats don't seem to be sprung? Aren't they uncomfortable after a while?

18th Aug 2009, 21:04

mat says:

Sofa is holding up well. Unsprung seats no problem - the foam cushions are nice and dense and springy. Plus there's always the option to take the "soft" seats when buying - we have one of each, one soft, one firm - and they're both very comfortable.

Fabric/vinyl is tough and wearing well. There's been a little deformation of the cushions over time, as you'd expect, but certainly nothing unacceptable. It gets a lot of use, this sofa.

20th Aug 2009, 11:58

Simon says:

Which seating option would anybody recommend? Soft seating or standard? Thanks for your help.

6th Sep 2009, 11:48

seaneeboy says:

We're looking at new sofas, and I remembered this post - good to see the update too, thanks :) Will take a look!

9th Oct 2009, 11:54

Rachel Quayle(rmquayle-at-googlemail-dot-com) says:

Hi,

Can anyone give a definitive answer on which seating option is best? Am just about to buy a Nabru and can't decide which to go for.

Thanks

Rach

21st Oct 2009, 13:14

mat says:

There is no "best", as such, it's just what you prefer. Both seat options work perfectly well, it's just down to what kind of seat you prefer to sit on. The firm is quite firm, and the soft is fairly soft.

Bear in mind you can order both and send back the one you don't like. We have one of each on the sofa in the photo above.

21st Oct 2009, 13:31

Chloe Oxford(elkieward-at-hotmail-dot-com) says:

really helpful. I am also looking at getting a corner sofa from Nabru as I have a funny shaped (L) living room and most on the market are too wide.

Thanks very much :-)

18th Nov 2009, 13:04

bethmadethis says:

did you go for the higher arms?

18th Nov 2009, 13:20

mat says:

I did, yes.

18th Nov 2009, 13:21

mike(m-dot-mallen51-at-btinternet-dot-com) says:

some sound advice there.
i'm aso thinking of buying a design your own corner sofa, can anyone tell me which are the best covers, and are they washable please.

30th Nov 2009, 15:19

georgia mathews says:

This was great to see. Am thinking of buying a Nabru sofa but had some concerns. Is the frame wood or board? And do you have board that goes under the seats?
May seem like a daft question but do you think it can be taken apart again when you move?
Love to know before we buy as this sofa has to last!
Thanks

10th Jan 2010, 11:20

Jamie says:

Company that seems to have gone downhill.
ordered a 2.3m x 2.3m corner sofa.

First delivery day, spoke to the delivery company and was told "will probably be a PM delivery"
3PM sofa turns up on a pallet and shrink wrapped.
Website said as close as possible to the front door.
AFTER making the purchase, you get an email that say's:
HOW THE GOODS COME

Your goods will all be flat packed and shrink wrapped onto a pallet. On the day of delivery the couriers will bring the goods as close as they can to your front door. When they get them there it's simply a matter of breaking the shrink wrap open and carrying the goods in - the largest individual part is always an arm or a sofabed mechanism.

it's now your task of removing the shrink wrap, carrying the sofa parts into your home (mine is on the 4th floor) and then disposing of the pallet yourself!!!

2 cushions of mine were damaged and I can only say that Neil (a director of the company) is not only rude, but also someone who says one thing, then denies what he said.
Also avoid weekend deliveries, as there are no manager's not helpful staff to speak to if your delivery doesn't show up, or is damaged.

Sofa was finally sorted out with a delivery guy trying to repair the damaged sofa at 6pm on a saturday after waiting in all day, and no-one at the office able to give a AM or PM appointment time., so I had given up at 5PM and carried on with my life, only to have him come back at a later date and repair the leg, cushion cover and arrive with another wrong cushion cover, and I agreed to change the cover myself rather than wait in for another repair guy.

MDF construction, creek's a bit, fair comfortable, but as the lady answering the phones at the weekend said "Thats why we are cheaper, we don't carry anything, and sometimes things are damaged"

J

6th Feb 2010, 22:06

MJBVLC(mjbvlc-at-gmail-dot-com) says:

I've just taken delivery of a 2.5m x 2.5m corner sofa from Nabru in Spain. Cheaper than buying the equivalent here, even including delivery charge. Pallet delivery was no surprise - was ready & waiting with a knife! 16 trips up 2 flights of stairs, but no way a pre-built sofa could have got up the narrow stairs. 4.5 hours for 2 people to construct, including a few errors (some ours, some due to unclear instructions). Absolutely LOVE the sofa (Dundee Wine Red) very comfy & seems robust. One cushion cover was damaged, which I immediately reported to Nabru. Will update if I have any problems getting a replacement. So far, am very impressed. Yes it's on a pallet, yes, you do the work, but this is priced into the deal & it's up to you if you choose to go down this route.

18th Apr 2010, 23:49

donna 2010(xxlightningxx-at-hotmail-dot-com) says:

i got my sofa yesterday i went for the atto 3 + 4 corner sofa and it cost £785 we ordered the sample fabrics first which arrived the very next day ! super .. we decided to go for the max in mink.
it was delivered 2 days later on a pallet shrink wrapped and the lorry driver helped unload the bits into my house which was good of him

when i had all the bits in the front room i sort ov thought OMG wat have i done as there was so many pieces of mdf and to be honest it looked tacky however the cusions all looked fab so we decided to go ahead and build the thing. building it was fairly easy if your good at that sort of thing however it would have made it even better if the pieces had of been labelled as matching the bits to the drawings was a little difficault when they all look pretty similar, however it all went together and took around 2 1/1 hrs between 2 ppl and i have to say it didnt look tacky any more it looked amazing!

the way it all fits is fantastic and id say the main tip is if it doesnt just simply slot in its not the right piece as evrythin fits like a glove. the structure is so sturdy and strong im sure u could get an elephant to sit on it.

I wont lie as it is fiddly getting the fabrics to be perfect and you sort of become ocd whilst doing this!

Now its got pride of place in my living room i cant belive it looks so good its so comfortable too , i went for the softer seating option it is quite firm but nabru say it should soften over a few weeks to be just right.

I honestly cannot fault this company their customer service was fantastic when i called and thier correspondence has been great all the way through i dont know why people would want to spend 2 -3 k in dfs or the likes when these seem much stronger once built and so stylish

If i had any faults to pik there would only be 2 :

*scotch gaurd is basically, they send the cans of spray for you to do yourself , which for me is a pain as i have a 6 month old baby in the house and you need to vent the area for 12 hrs ...nearly impossible for me !
*the parts are not labelled like abc and so on , this would make it much simpler to build and problay half the time too !

I will definately use them again in the future and will never go to a "normal" sofa shop again ever

LONG LIVE NABRU !!!

20th May 2010, 11:21

donna2010(xxlightningxx-at-hotmail-dot-com) says:

oh sorry just wanted to add :

all the covers are velcro around the framework so can be removed to wash and aall the cushion covers are ziped on so they can be removed for wash too .
It can be taken completley apart and put back together again if your planning on moving house but i wouldnt sugest you try to move sofa as a whole !
seat wise, i chose the softer seating and the seat bases came as a square piece of wood with straps in for a more springy feel im guessing, these bases slide into the base cusions and then lock into place on the frame so the cusions dont budge an inch very clever !

like i said in my review above they are a fantastic design, cant fault them one bit all my parts were present and the service i recieved was better than i ever dreamed !

20th May 2010, 11:30

helen says:

we bought nabru sofas about 8 months ago now and i must say that we are well pleased with them... they still look brand new and i'm still suprised when i sit on them how comfortable they are.... people are always commenting on them.... and my mother is about to order one for her house... we designed our own.... put them together without to much problems... 1 piece was broken but a replacement came the next day... i'm pretty sure they'll last well and i would def buy again....well recommended!!!

28th May 2010, 11:58

lisa rdoran(lisam-dot-doran-at-hotmail-dot-com) says:

Hi
can anyone tell me they have washed their seat covers yet as im alittle hessitant as i have the nabru sofa in aubergine and am frightened of the colour running!! thanks

15th Jun 2010, 19:54

Rachel Mac says:

We went to the Nabru showroom at the weekend - it's on an industrial estate a bit out of the way, but inside is a nice professional showroom. All the sofas are labelled with what they are and which seating etc they have. There were no pushy sales people which was great so we just wandered around sitting on the sofas and looking at the fabric samples.

The display sofas all looked like good quality proper sofas too - we were worried they'd look a bit 'home-made'.

I'd say the 'regular' seat cushions are medium-firm - they're not hard but have some support, but the soft are more 'sink into them' in nature .

After visiting we're definitely going to order a sofa from them!

17th Aug 2010, 19:15

Tony Lay says:

Purchased a sofa approx 20 months ago. Fabric mean't to be washable, however fabric has a fault and is coming unglued. Just a single strand. Very unimpressed with attitude of Customer service. Dont call you back within agreed timescales. Please add cost of Small Claims Court to propective purchase price- you might need it...

24th Aug 2010, 20:37

jonathan davis says:

These sofas are terrible i ordered the 4x2 sofa bed the sofa is so heavy when moved it clean behind sofa cracked on the mdf!
I telephoned nabru they said they are not ment to be moved! I have broken it.
Customer service terrible the attitude of the directors is inplorable.
Going down the small claims court road now.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS

4th Oct 2010, 10:56

Sam Hewitt says:

I recieved my Sofa today and it is amazing it is a 3 standard seated sofa with one of the seats extended.It is already really comfortable and the quality of the fabric is really good. It was very simple to put together and i will definatly be using again.

5th Oct 2010, 17:30

Mel says:

I ordered a sofa from nabru 4 months ago. Delivered when they said they were gonna deliver. Relatively easy to assemble, and I managed to do it all by myself (it was a two seater). The sofa looks great, and is very comfy to sit on. My cat adores it too. The design is simple and elegant. I suggest you get the samples of the fabric first as imagining what the sofa will look like by looking at the pics on site is impossible.
Need a 3 seater now, and will be getting one from Nabru again

3rd Nov 2010, 17:41

Paula says:

haha, love your dog that keeps popping into the shot! Animals are so curious.

Thanks for the video, it's been very helpful.

12th Nov 2010, 11:40

Rachel Fosberry says:

Very disappointed with our corner sofa. Arrived with several wrong covers and had to persuade a very condescending salesman that it wasn't because I wasn't assembling it correctly. 2 years later we are going to have to dump the sofa as it has worn through all of the connecting 'bumps' underneath and the sticthing on the covers has come undone. The seats never fitted into the base correctly and would slip out repeatedly. I spent £900 on our combination and it is the most expensive mistake I have made. Also, the sofa isn't as compact as it looks on screen as it protrudes by 15cm behind the back. If I had had the oportunity to view the sofa first, I would never had purchased it.

4th Dec 2010, 09:02

Mark(markjohn2007-at-yahoo-dot-co-dot-uk) says:

I found this blog where there is a detailed step by step instructions on nabru sofa assembly. modularsofa.blogspot.com/2011/05/nabru-sofa-review.html

18th May 2011, 23:47

rachel(rachel-dot-mullaney-at-gmail-dot-com) says:

On Tuesday 31 May, 2011 I placed an order for a corner sofa. I received the palette on Saturday 4 June 2011. I instantly discovered that two integral pieces of the sofa were broken in transit, and that no instructions were supplied either. The pieces were broken due to such tight packaging as they were the tallest two pieces pulled tightly inwards by the ‘cling film’.

On the telephone to Nabru I was not apologised to, at all. I was even told “the parts were fine when they left us” by two members of staff, which I felt was in fact accusing me for the damage to the parts. I actually insisted a return, but my partner called up again to accept the re-delivery of the parts instead and he was told by the man “why should we refund the delivery to you when you may have broken the parts yourself” This is absolutely insulting, why would we break our own sofa?

Frustrated and at the point where I wanted to return the whole sofa, when I asked for a refund I was also told that I would have to be in before 6pm on a weekday for the parts to be collected, a point which was not acceptable as I cannot take this time off work (I was not offered to be reimbursed for time taken as holiday). It is beyond belief that Nabru would lose my custom of almost £800 for the sake of not refunding the £35 delivery. Practical matters such as not having any sofa for my family to sit on is the only reason that I have kept this sofa, and I have no confidence in the service I will receive if anything goes wrong in the future under the two year guarantee. I truly wish that I could have cancelled altogether and taken my order to another company who would have welcomed my custom.

Now that the sofa is assembled it looks good, but you can see it will wear down where the notches meet, the top of the chaise part knocks off easily already. We also discovered the storage tray we paid £15 extra for is not there, when I emailed Nabru have said "Chaise part shut be empty,so is fine." There was no hello, no apology, and no refund. It makes no sense.


All in all they have robbed me of the £15 for storage trays, £35 for delivery and treated me awfully. Nabru - great concept appauling customer sevice!

8th Jun 2011, 12:49

Jessie says:

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. We order a 3 seat and the delivery man left it outside our drive said the instruction was to leave it as soon as it reaches part of the house, We had to carry all the way back to the house and realised that all the pieces are all broken! the customer service had no intention of apologizing and even put the phone down on me.

Competed waste of 600 pounds and spent lots of energy trying to deal with them.

We ordered the same sofa at DFS was much better service and only few pounds more expensive.

Worst online shopping experience we ever had. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!

21st Jul 2011, 13:20

deniz says:

we order 4 seater ,2 seater sofa bed and footstool from nabru on 6 august and deliveried early on 11 august ..delivery driver very nice bloke..it was a massive pallet ,it took 1.5 hour to set up 4 seater with 2 people , it was easy enough only bad point was instruction could be better explained.
nice and comfy .
i would recomment nabru without hasitation.
esspiacilly if your house got tide entrance..

12th Aug 2011, 20:15

katrina(katrina-moran-at-hotmail-dot-co-dot-uk) says:

I live on a narrowboat would a small 2 seater sofa bed be pratical from this company?

26th Jan 2012, 10:21

Wendy says:

Bought a very large corner sofa in January this year. Didnt write a review straight away as wanted to use it first. Delivery excellent. Couldnt complain. Came on overnight frieght and delivered by local delivery company. The delivery driver brought the sofa to my front door, carried it all into my front room and took way all the rubbish. Now for the assembly! My husband was at work so it took me about 4 hours to build a large seven seater sofa. Really easy to build. We went for the basic seats and find them very comfy. I also ordered the storage trays, glad I did, finishes it off internally. Along with the sofa I purchased a footstool, the only downside to this was it could do with being on casters as it is heavy to move. After having the sofa for a couple of months my only complaint is the cushions always look messing and I am constantly puffing the cushions and attempting to straighten the seat cushions. Marks out of 10 probably 7. Would I buy again, not sure! Love the sofa design and colour but fed up with the constant creases.

25th Mar 2012, 18:20